What does “Foursquare” mean?

     The term “Foursquare” stands for the four-fold ministry of Jesus Christ as the Savior (Romans 10:9), the Baptizer with the Holy Spirit (Luke 3:16), the Healer (1 Peter 2:24) and the coming King (Acts 1:11).

     Jesus Christ, The Savior

     The only hope for humanity is Jesus Christ.  He loved us so much that He died to save us from the penalty of our sin. “For God so loved the world that He gave His one and only Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life” John 3:16.  This square in our logo is represented by the Cross and the color red for the blood He shed for us.

Jesus Christ, The Baptizer with the Holy Spirit

     Jesus promised that He would send the Holy Spirit to give them the power to spread the good news about Him (Acts 2).  This square is the Dove, representing the Holy Spirit and the gold color signifies the fire of the Holy Spirit.

Jesus Christ, The Healer

     Acts 10:38 reveals Jesus the Healer “how God anointed Jesus of Nazareth with the Holy Spirit and power and how He went around doing good and healing all who were under the power of the devil, because God was with Him”.  This square is represented by the cup and the color blue for divine healing.  This was also the color of the High Priest’s garment in the Old Testament.

Jesus Christ, The Soon-Coming King

     When Jesus ascended into Heaven, the angels declared that He would return to take His Church to live with Him forever (Acts 1:10-11).  This square is represented by the crown and the color purple for the royalty of Jesus.